Fantasy & Romance Book Reviews

Your One Stop Place To Finding All Of The Latest and Greatest Fantasy & Romance Book Reviews

#FREE Reading Sunday: The Descent Series Boxed Set 1-3 by S.M Reine Reviewed

Leave a comment

The Descent Series, Books 1-3: Death’s Hand, The Darkest Gate, and Dark Union – S.M Reine

Descent Series


For All You S.M Reine Fans……..

 She was destined to be a weapon. Elise Kavanagh is good at one thing: killing demons, angels, and gods. For years, she was the death that supernatural creatures feared. More myth than woman, she walked the Earth as the embodiment of vengeance.

But Elise doesn’t want anything to do with destiny. She wants time off to spend with her only friend and former investigative partner, James Faulkner – a powerful witch, the only person she trusts – and try to be a normal person, whatever that means.

Destiny hasn’t forgotten her. It’s not easy to retire when you were born to be a killing machine. Old enemies still hold bitter grudges against Elise. The demon overlord of her new home isn’t happy to have the Godslayer hiding out in her territory. And there are still gods that need to be killed…

This is a collection of the first three titles in The Descent Series, which are gritty urban fantasy books about an exorcist, a witch, and their battles against the forces of Heaven and Hell.

Books included:

1. Death’s Hand

2. The Darkest Gate

3. Dark Union



Elise Kavanagh doesn’t want to hunt demons any more. It’s been five years since she killed her last enemy, and life has been quiet since then. She went to college. Got a job, and then lost it. Made a friend or two. Lived a normal life. Now her former partner, a powerful witch named James Faulkner, wants Elise to fight one more time. The daughter of a coven member has been possessed, and Elise is the only exorcist nearby.

Becoming a hero again would mean risking discovery by old enemies. But digging into the case reveals that it might already be too late–bodies are disappearing, demons slither through the night, and the cogs of apocalypse are beginning to turn. Some enemies aren’t willing to let the secrets of the past stay dead…


When Elise Kavanagh retired from demon hunting, she swore it would be permanent. But an attack from a powerful necromancer forced her back into the business, and now she’s trying to balance her normal boyfriend and normal job with everything supernatural.

Mr. Black is a demon hunter gone rogue. He’s enslaving angels and stealing ethereal in pursuit of forbidden immortality, and an old grudge drives him to make his final stand in Elise’s territory. Destroying her life and killing her friends isn’t the goal, but it’s a definite perk.

A demonic overlord offers to join against Mr. Black and protect Elise’s loved ones. All she needs to do is ally with the demons she’s sworn to kill, at the cost of her morals–and maybe her immortal soul. But once she crosses that line, there’s no turning back.

Nothing is sacred when Heaven and Hell collide on Earth…


Every fifty years, the most powerful ethereal and infernal beings convene on Earth to resolve conflicts with mediation by kopides–humans born to police relations between Heaven and Hell. They’re meeting in Elise Kavanagh’s territory this year, and she used to be the greatest kopis in the world. But she’s not invited.

An old friend, Lucas McIntyre, asks her to attend the summit in his place. But when she arrives, she discovers that a human faction called The Union has taken charge of the summit, and they’re not playing nice. Worse yet, someone has killed a prominent Union member… and now they’re demanding blood.


Amazon UK      Amazon US



I downloaded this 3 book series box set as it was free on Amazon as something to read that sounded different. It is Action packed from word GO right through to the end of Dark Union #3.  This series was nothing like what I was expecting and I am really happy that I underestimated the talent and level of brilliance it has taken to create a world, and sub worlds, where these characters come from!

In Book 1 Elise experiences a lot of flashbacks which although are very informative and fit well with the story it does occasionally annoy, but only in the sense because you are so eager to find out what happens next. Ass Kicking, Fiesty and Drop Dead Beautiful Elise is a very Strong Independent Woman who is the perfect epitome of Fantasy Females. Her Main Goal is staying alive and that fight for her life is a darn right good one at that, I couldn’t put it down 🙂

Book 2: The Darkest Gate – I was able to pick up where I left off with ease, something any fan of a series loves. The thrill of being able to move onto the next book is pure pleasure and reading this instalment was nearly more than I could take! Again solidly action packed but with a softer tone as you get to see the relationship between Elise and  Anothony in another light as well as her bond with James change significantly…….The past has a Way of Catching Up With You! – Expertly done Again, brilliant momentum and just the right amount of action, plot, love and fantasy ❤

The final book in this boxed set: Dark Union, was a slightly different pace from the first two, it was a good book but not quite as good as Book 1 & 2 which held that little something “extra”, that made them a true page turner.With The Summit happening Elise and Anthony work together to deal with “The Union” who are the human faction that take over The Summit and create havoc, death and mayhem. Still action packed but with James sort of “not around” shall we say. I feel a massive opportunity was lost but I can’t go into too much detail as I don’t do Spoilers!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s